Cross-Border Portfolio Analysis Software for Financial Advisers: Ten Options Compared (2026)

An adviser whose clients live in one country, hold accounts in another and own US and Irish funds needs two things from software: a consolidated portfolio they can trust, and an honest view of what borders change: withholding by residence, fund domicile, US estate exposure, a planned move, the tax wrapper an account sits in. Most platforms do the first well. Very few say anything about the second. This comparison sets out who each tool is built for, what it costs where that is published, and what it states about cross-border tax, using only what the vendors say themselves or where a third-party figure is labelled as such.

What to look for

At a glance

ToolBuilt forPricingCross-border tax analysis (vendor-stated)
AddeparFamily offices, banks, large wealth firmsOn request; third-party estimates $50k–$300k+ a yearNot stated
Morningstar Direct / Direct Advisory SuiteResearch teams; advisers (Office is being retired)On requestNot stated
SS&C Black DiamondUS RIAs and wealth managersOn requestNot stated
FactSetWealth managers and institutionsOn request; buyer data median about $25k a yearNot stated
OrionUS RIAs, broker-dealers, trust companiesOn requestNot stated
SharesightInvestors; a Business plan for advisers and accountantsInvestors from $7 a month; Business by demoRecords a withholding rate per holding
Navexa ProAustralian advisers and accountantsFrom AUD 180 a monthNot stated
Kubera White LabelFirms offering clients a net-worth viewFrom $300 a month (vendor page)Not stated
Excel + Power BIFirms building their ownPower BI Pro $14 per user a monthWhatever you build and maintain
Borderfolio for AdvisorsIndependent advisers and small firms with internationally mobile clients$99–$499 a month per firm, publishedWithholding by residence, fund domicile, US estate exposure, relocation, tax wrappers, AU franking, NZ FIF

"Not stated" means the vendor's own pages say nothing about it, not that the product cannot do it. Prices checked on 22 October 2026.

The tools, one by one

Addepar

Built for banks, family offices and large wealth firms: it consolidates fragmented custodial data, handles alternatives and illiquid assets, and models ownership across entities, with hundreds of integrations. Pricing is on request; third-party estimates of $50,000 to $300,000+ a year with a multi-month implementation come from a competitor's blog and should be treated as indicative. Consider it for UHNW clients with private assets and many entities. For a solo adviser it is out of scale.

Morningstar Direct and Direct Advisory Suite

Morningstar's data and research behind fund selection, proposals and portfolio analysis. Advisor Workstation has become Direct Advisory Suite, and Morningstar has announced it is retiring Morningstar Office, with users moving to SS&C Black Diamond (Morningstar, SEC exhibit, 25 March 2025). Consider it for research-led fund selection; see our note on Morningstar Office alternatives.

SS&C Black Diamond

Portfolio management, reporting, a client portal, rebalancing and billing for US RIAs, and the destination Morningstar chose for Office users (SS&C press release, August 2025). Pricing is on request. Consider it as the full operations platform of a US-centred practice.

FactSet

Global data and analytics for wealth managers and institutions, with adviser dashboards and proposals (FactSet wealth management). Pricing is on request; buyer-reported data put the median around $25,000 a year (Vendr buyer data). Consider it when deep market data and quantitative analysis drive the work.

Orion

Portfolio accounting, fee billing, CRM, tax-aware trading and rebalancing for US advisory firms (Orion). Pricing is on request. Consider it as the back office of a US RIA.

Sharesight

A well-known investment tracker with automatic dividends and corporate actions, multi-currency valuation and country tax reports; its Business plan gives advisers and accountants client and staff access (Sharesight Business). It records a withholding rate per holding, defaulting to the treaty rate for US shares in an Australian portfolio (Sharesight, foreign withholding tax); it does not compare fund domiciles or estate exposure. Investor plans start at $7 a month; the Business plan is priced by demo (Sharesight pricing). Consider it for tax-year reporting on many client portfolios. Our Sharesight comparison goes further.

Navexa Pro

An Australian tracker with a Pro tier for advisers, accountants and family offices: client portal, client and team management, from AUD 180 a month (Navexa pricing (AU)). Tax reporting is strongly Australian. Consider it for an Australian practice reporting to the ATO.

Kubera White Label

A net-worth tracker across banks, brokers, crypto, property and private assets, offered to advisory firms under their own brand from $300 a month (Kubera White Label). Consider it to give clients a balance-sheet view; it is a tracker rather than analysis or review tooling.

Excel and Power BI

Complete flexibility for a low licence cost (Power BI Pro is $14 per user a month, Power BI pricing). Statement parsing, prices, FX, corporate actions and every tax rule are yours to build and keep current, and the spreadsheet usually depends on the one person who wrote it. Consider it for a handful of clients or a prototype.

Borderfolio for Advisors

Built for independent advisers and small firms whose clients cross borders. Client statements are imported and reviewed before they count; holdings, currency and fund-domicile exposure, and performance (time-weighted and money-weighted, with an ETF benchmark) are consolidated per client and per household. Cross-border findings show dividend withholding by residence, what an Irish UCITS fund changes after home tax, US-situs estate exposure and the effect of a planned move, with tax wrappers (ISA, SIPP, super, IRA, RRSP), Australian franking and New Zealand FIF where they apply. A current-versus-proposed scenario and a firm-branded, versioned PDF review complete the workflow. Pricing is published: $99 to $499 a month per firm (plans). What it does not do:

Which to choose

If your work is mostly…Look first at
UHNW families with private assets and entitiesAddepar
Running a US RIA: accounting, billing, rebalancingBlack Diamond or Orion
Fund research and selectionMorningstar Direct or FactSet
Tax-year reporting for many investor portfoliosSharesight Business or Navexa Pro
A client net-worth view under your brandKubera White Label
Reviewing internationally mobile clients across brokers, currencies and residencesBorderfolio for Advisors

These tools are not exclusive. A firm can run its accounting in one system and its cross-border reviews in another; Borderfolio sits alongside a CRM and a custodian rather than replacing them.

Frequently asked questions

What is cross-border portfolio analysis?

It is reviewing a client's investments with the effect of borders included: which country withholds tax on dividends and at what rate, how the client's residence taxes the rest, whether a fund's domicile helps or costs them, whether US-domiciled holdings create US estate exposure, and what a move between countries changes.

Which portfolio software models dividend withholding by tax residence?

Most platforms record the tax withheld on each dividend. Borderfolio for Advisors also compares outcomes by residence, for example a US-domiciled ETF against an Irish UCITS fund after the client's home tax and treaty credit, with and without a W-8BEN. Among the tools compared here, the others' own pages do not describe that analysis.

Is there affordable portfolio software for independent advisers with international clients?

Enterprise platforms such as Addepar, FactSet and Black Diamond are priced on request and aimed at larger firms. Borderfolio for Advisors publishes its pricing, from $99 a month per firm, and is built for independent advisers and small firms.

Can I use Excel instead?

For a few clients, yes. As the book grows, the work of parsing statements, keeping prices, FX and corporate actions current and maintaining tax rules by country usually outweighs the licence saving.

See it with your own clients

The Founding Adviser plan starts with a 30-day trial; plans and prices are published. Request early access, or read the documentation.

Related articles